Notre-Dame-des-Neiges, in the heart of nature

Located on mount Royal, a classified heritage district, Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery has always developed and managed its activities with respect for its environment.

Thousands of trees

Since 2008, Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery has a Trees and Woodlands Management Plan. It contains certain commitments to enhance the landscape value of the site and its heritage contribution to mount Royal and Montréal. Here are some of the actions highlighted in the plan:

  • Maintaining green assets by planting at least one replacement tree for each of the felled trees;
  • Diversification of planted species;
  • An increase in the total number of trees on site within 10 years.

The cemetery's arboreal park also includes 5 woodlands on its territory: the Saint-Jean-Baptiste woodland, the Eastern woodland, the Central woodland, the Western woodland and the Northern woodland. Between the trees that compose them and the ornamental trees, it is estimated that the cemetery has nearly 13,500 trees, several of which are over 100 years old.

The most common species are silver maples, Norway maples, horse chestnuts and sugar maples. But there are also oaks, cherry trees, ash trees, spruces, elms, poplars, cedars weeping willows.

The notable trees

A list of a hundred remarkable trees has been established according to several criteria: their diameter, the estimated age, the general condition, the rarity of the species on the territory ... These trees give a certain added value to the cemetery's arboreal park. Here are some that stand out:

  • A 186 cm delloid poplar
  • A silver maple 254 years old
  • A 220 year old red oak
  • A 236-year-old sugar maple
  • White walnut (Butternut) and black maple are among the rarest species.

The cemetery gives special value to three poplars of the Notre-Dame section.

The Mount Royal site also has a list of its remarkable trees (French only), 7 of which are on the cemetery grounds.

red oak saint-francois and notre-dame mausoleums

The red oak in front of the Saint-François and Notre-Dame mausoleums.

An active wildlife

The Mount Royal forest is home to a diverse fauna. The gray squirrel, the chipmunk or the swiss, the groundhog, the raccoon and the striped skunk are the main representatives. Moreover, the presence of the cottontail rabbit and the red fox gives the place a rustic character still appreciated in urban areas.

Several bird species also visit this privileged environment. At different times of the year, we can see buntings, red-winged blackbirds, goldfinches, American crows, American kestrels, common starlings, bobolinks, swallows, back-capped tits, sparrows, mockingbirds, northern orioles, warblers, woodpeckers, killed plovers, tailed blackbirds, white-breasted nuthatches and eastern kingbirds.

Wildlife Management Plan

Sustainable development and natural heritage go hand in hand at the cemetery. It is in this perspective that a wildlife management plan has been adopted. It aims to preserve, develop and enhance the diversity of wildlife that visits the cemetery's territory while limiting the nuisance that some animals may cause due to their abundance or behavior.

Therefore, our management plan has three areas of intervention aimed at maintaining a balance between a place where burial and commemoration activities are held and a place inhabited by wildlife.

  • Area 1: Conservation and enhancement of wildlife diversity by respecting and protecting it through all our activities.
  • Area 2: Spotlight on our wildlife by creating and distributing informative tools for our workers and visitors.
  • Area 3: The management of wildlife issues through interventions to ensure an harmonious coexistence between wildlife and cemetery activities.

Biodiversity

Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery is a unique place of reflection and meditation that shelters close to one million deceased on Mount Royal. Its tree park and topography are rich and diversified. Certain development practices raise concerns about environmental protection and the enhancement of biodiversity. The Cemetery wants to reduce the environmental footprint of its activities.

Over the past 30 years, customer values and choices have evolved, as have their expectations regarding the environment. Over the next few years, we will have to review our development and maintenance practices, in order to :

  • Reduce fossil fuel energy consumption related to operations
  • Reduce noise pollution created by the operation of certain tools
  • Improve management of residual materials
  • Reduce consumption of salt and abrasive products
  • Reduce water consumption
  • Adapt site development and maintenance practices

Landscape design

THE CHOICE OF INFLUENTIAL ARCHITECTS

The first architects of Notre-Dame-des-Neiges were inspired by the layout of the Père-Lachaise cemetery in Paris to establish a balance between the classical spirit and an ode to nature – a widespread movement by the influential philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau. It is therefore a monumental romantic cemetery with winding paths lined with trees, designed by two influential architects.

Henri-Maurice Perrault drew the plans and implemented the winding, irregular paths that give the cemetery a romantic atmosphere. Perreault was the nephew of John Ostell, then Montréal's most famous architect. In 1877-78, Ostell designed the first buildings of the cemetery including the charnel house (which today has been transformed and named Mausoleum Sainte-Claire d'Assise), the chapel and the current Administrative Pavillion.

Another famous architect who left his mark on the cemetery, is Victor Bourgeau who would contribute to the construction of the original entrance doors (they were modified in 1926) and the construction of two adjoining houses. Bourgeau is also known for his magnificent work inside the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal.

A CEMETERY ON THE MOUNTAIN

The development of a cemetery on a mountain has a certain importance, besides the evident advantage of the surface area. In the Catholic religion, the mountain gives hope of the promised resurrection. Notre-Dame-des-Neiges offers a climate of tranquility, meditation and contemplation, in the heart of nature.

The landscape that makes up the cemetery is complex and stands out in three distinct areas:

  • The plain: The main entrance on Côte-des-Neiges is a perfectly axial composition representative of Catholic cemeteries: a central cross, two golden angels on its sides on an oval field surrounded by trees. This axis goes up to the imposing facade of the first charnel house of the cemetery (present day mausoleum Sainte-Claire d'Assise).
  • The plateau: At the top of the slope of the plain, there is what constitutes the second zone, arranged in a rectilinear pattern. The Notre-Dame-de-la-Résurrection chapel and the Administrative pavilion is located there. The layout of rows of trees along the path is in line with the cemeteries of monumental tradition. The plateau also leads up to the peaks of Outremont and Montreal.
  • The summit: It is distinguished by a typical layout of the tradition of New France, a path from the cross that goes up to the Calvary, which many historians at the time have compared to the "sacred mountain", a metaphor ot the Christian soul who seeks to get closer to God.

ESSENTIAL BUILDINGS AND A CEREMONIAL ENTRANCE

During the first 50 years, the foundations and the initial sections were developed, and the important buildings such as the Notre-Dame-de-la-Resurrection chapel and the Administrative pavilion were built. From 1875 to 1900, changes in society and the growth of Montreal lead to the creation of sections reserved for cultural communities, and the installation of majestic monuments.

Before the monumental door made by Victor Bourgeau was installed, the entrance door of the cemetery had a temporary first-version. This one, entirely built in stone, deteriorated and was partly demolished in 1926. According to the plans of Faucher, Aubertin, Brodeur, Gauthier architects, it was only in 1998, that the current door was installed, and embellished with a metal hoop. This door became part of the cemetery's signature aesthetic. 

In the decades that followed, the construction of the mausoleums shaped the landscape, as well as the transformation of the first charnel house in mausoleum Sainte-Claire-d'Assise (see photo at the top of the page), in 1994. Located straight ahead after the main entrance on Côte-des-Neiges road, the pond added in front majestically welcomes visitors.This place is now called the Commemoration Place. The choice to integrate water in this gathering place is not insignificant. As a matter of fact, the movements of the water jets draw the eye to the mausoleum, and the soothing sound complements meditation and serenity. Like the mountain, the significance of water in Christianity is also important: it means eternal life. "But whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the WATER I give him will become in him a fount of water springing up to the eternal life." John 4:14.

These achitectural achievements and the landscape developpment of the cemetery have always illustrated the determination of the Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montréal, to preserve this unique place and modernize it, in line with its its mission and its environment.

cote-des-neiges entrance

The entrance on Côte-des-Neiges road

preserving wildlife

Help us preserve wildlife and ensure harmonious cohabitation.

  • By feeding without the intervention of humans, animals develop appropriate behaviors essential to their survival. Human foods do not suit them.
  • Feeding the animals contributes to the overabundance of some species. This situation is detrimental to the natural ecological balance that contributes to the preservation of the beautiful faunal diversity.
  • By losing their natural fear of humans, they can annoy visitors.

Thank you for observing the rule of not feeding the animals and follow these two tips:

  • Enjoy wild animals from a distance.
  • Keep your pet at home.

Emerald ash borer maintenance and control

Each year, several employees work on the 340 acres of pathways, trees, lawns and landscaping of the cemetery. More than 500 arboreal interventions are carried out, from felling to pruning, tree planting, bracing, etc.

In addition to the prevention and special care given to trees infested by insects or problematic diseases, Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery has been particularly active in the fight against emerald ash borer since 2010. All trees are treated or monitored rigorously.

In addition, a recent project has allowed us to transform those that could not be saved into ecological urns and magnificent wooden benches (now installed in our mausoleums), thanks to the good care of the circular economy company Bois Public.

Notre-Dame-des-Neiges, en pleine nature

Installé au coeur de l'arrondissement historique et naturel du Mont-Royal, le cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges développe et gère depuis toujours ses activités dans le respect de son environnement.

Des arbres par milliers

Depuis 2008, le cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges a un Plan de gestion des arbres et des bois. Il contient certains engagements pour bonifier la valeur paysagère du Mont-Royal. Voici quelques-une des actions :

  • Le maintien des actifs verts par la plantation d’au moins un arbre de remplacement pour chacun des arbres abattus;

  • La diversification des espèces plantées;

  • L'augmentation du nombre total d’arbres sur le site en 10 ans.

Le parc arboricole du Cimetière comprend aussi 5 boisés sur son territoire : le boisé Saint-Jean-Baptiste, le boisé de l’Est, le boisé Central, le boisé de l’Ouest et le boisé du Nord. Entre les arbres qui les composent et les arbres ornementaux, on estime que le Cimetière a près de 13 500 arbres, dont plusieurs sont centenaires.

Les espèces les plus présentes sont les érables argentés, les érables de Norvège, les marronniers d’Inde, les érables à sucre. Mais on recense également des chênes, des cerisiers, des frênes, des épinettes, des ormes, des peupliers, des cèdres, des saules pleureurs…

Les arbres remarquables

Une liste d'une centaine d'arbres remarquables a été établie en fonction de plusieurs critères : leur diamètre, l’âge estimé, la condition générale, la rareté de l’espèce sur le territoire… Ces arbres donnent une valeur ajoutée certaine au parc arboricole du cimetière. En voici quelques-uns qui se distinguent :

  • Un peuplier delloïde de 186 cm;

  • Un érable argenté de 254 ans;

  • Un chêne rouge de 220 ans;

  • Un érable à sucre de 236 ans;

  • Le noyer cendré et l’érable noir font partie des espèces les plus rares.

Le Cimetière donne une valeur particulière à trois peupliers de la section Notre-Dame.

Le site du Mont-Royal a aussi une liste de ses arbres remarquables, dont 7 sont sur le territoire du Cimetière.

chene rouge mausolee saint-francois et notre-dame

Le chêne rouge devant les mausolées Saint-François et Notre-Dame.

Une faune bien active

Le massif forestier du Mont-Royal abrite une faune diversifiée. Près d'une centaine d'espèces de la faune sauvage - amphibiens, reptiles, oiseaux et mammifères - sont observées au cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges.

L'écureuil gris, le tamia rayé ou le suisse, la marmotte, le raton-laveur et la mouffette rayée en sont les principaux représentants. De plus, la présence du lapin à queue blanche et du renard roux donne au lieu un caractère rustique toujours apprécié en zone urbaine.

Plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux visitent aussi cet environnement privilégié. À différentes époques de l'année, on peut y observer: bruants, carouges à épaulettes, chardonnerets jaunes, corneilles d'Amérique, crécerelles d'Amérique, étourneaux sansonnets, goglus, hirondelles, merles d'Amérique, mésanges à tête noire, moineaux, moqueurs, orioles du Nord, parulines, pics, pluviers kildir, quiscales bronzés, sittelles à poitrine blanche et tyrans tritris.

Plan de gestion de la faune

Développement durable et patrimoine naturel vont de pair au Cimetière. C'est dans cette perspective qu'un plan de gestion de la faune a été adopté. Il a pour objectif de préserver, de développer et de mettre en valeur la diversité de la faune sauvage qui fréquente le territoire du Cimetière tout en limitant les nuisances que certains animaux peuvent occasionner en raison de leur abondance ou de leur comportement.

Notre plan de gestion a donc trois axes d'intervention qui visent à maintenir un équilibre entre un lieu où se tiennent des activités d'inhumation et de commémoration et un lieu habité par une faune sauvage.

  • Axe 1: la conservation et l'amélioration de la diversité faunique par le respect envers la faune dans le cadre de toutes les activités du Cimetière. 
  • Axe 2: la mise en valeur de la faune par l'instauration d'instruments de connaissance et de diffusion destinés à nos travailleurs et visiteurs. 
  • Axe 3: la gestion des problématiques fauniques par des mesures d'intervention afin d'assurer une cohabitation harmonieuse entre la faune et les activités du Cimetière.

La biodiversité

Le cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges est un lieu unique d’accueil et de recueillement qui héberge près d’un million de défunts sur le mont Royal. Son parc arboricole et sa topographie sont riches et diversifiés. Certaines pratiques d’aménagement soulèvent des préoccupations quant à la protection de l’environnement et la valorisation de la biodiversité. Le Cimetière veut réduire l’empreinte environnementale de ses activités.

Depuis 30 ans, les valeurs et les choix des clients évoluent, ainsi que leurs attentes en matière d’environnement. Au cours des prochaines années, nous devrons réviser nos pratiques d’aménagement et d’entretien, afin notamment de :

  • Réduire la consommation d’énergie fossile liée aux activités
  • Diminuer la pollution sonore créée par l’exploitation de certains outils
  • Améliorer la gestion des matières résiduelles
  • Réduire la consommation de sel et de produits abrasifs
  • Diminuer la consommation d’eau
  • Adapter les pratiques d’aménagement et d’entretien du site

Aménagement paysager

Des architectes influents

Les premiers architectes de Notre-Dame-des­-Neiges se sont inspirés de l’aménagement du cimetière Père-Lachaise à Paris pour établir un équilibre entre esprit classique et ode à la nature – mouvement répandu par l’influent philosophe Jean-Jacques Rousseau. Il s’agit donc d’un cimetière-monument romantique aux chemins sinueux bordés d’arbres, conçus par deux architectes influents.

Henri-Maurice Perrault trace les plans et implante les chemins sinueux, irréguliers, qui confèrent au Cimetière une ambiance romantique. Perreault était le neveu de John Ostell, alors architecte le plus célèbre de Montréal. Ostell a conçu les premiers bâtiments du Cimetière comprenant le charnier (aujourd’hui transformé et nommé mausolée Sainte-Claire d’Assise), la chapelle et l’actuel pavillon administratif en 1877-78.

Un autre architecte renommé a laissé sa marque : il s’agit de Victor Bourgeau qui, lui, contribuera à la construction des portes d’entrée d’origine (elles ont été modifiées en 1926) et à la construction des deux maisons attenantes. Bourgeau est d’ailleurs connu pour son magnifique travail à l’intérieur de la basilique Notre-Dame-de-Montréal.

Un cimetière sur la montagne

Au-delà de la superficie que le site offre, il y a une importance certaine à se trouver sur une montagne. En effet, dans la religion catholique, elle donne l’espérance de la résurrection promise. En pleine nature, Notre-Dame-des-Neiges offre un climat de quiétude, de recueillement et de contemplation.

Le paysage qui compose le cimetière est complexe et se distingue en trois zones distinctes :

  • La plaine : L’entrée principale sur le chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges est une composition parfaitement axiale représentative des cimetières catholiques : une croix centrale, deux anges dorés sur ses côtés, sur un terrain ovale entouré d’arbres. Cet axe va jusqu’à l’imposante façade du premier charnier du cimetière (actuel mausolée Sainte-Claire d’Assise).
  • Le plateau : En haut de la pente de la plaine, on trouve ce qui constitue la deuxième zone, aménagée selon un motif rectiligne. On y trouve la chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Résurrection et le pavillon administratif. L’aménagement de rangées d’arbres en bordure de chemin s’inscrit dans la lignée des cimetières de tradition monumentale. Le plateau monte aussi vers les sommets d’Outremont et de Montréal.
  • Le sommet : il se distingue par un aménagement typique de la tradition de la Nouvelle-France, soit un chemin de croix qui monte vers un calvaire, que de nombreux historiens de l’époque ont assimilé à la «montagne sacrée», une métaphore de l’âme chrétienne qui cherche à se rapprocher de Dieu.

Des bâtiments essentiels, un accueil cérémoniel

Au cours des 50 premières années on aménage les tracés fondateurs, les sections initiales, et on construit les bâtiments essentiels tels que la chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Résurrection et le pavillon administratif. De 1875 à 1900, les changements de société et le développement de Montréal se manifestent par la création de sections réservées aux communautés culturelles et par le choix de monuments majestueux. 

La porte d'entrée du Cimetière a eu une première version temporaire avant de voir s'ériger la porte monumentale de Victor Bourgeau. Celle-ci, construite entièrement en pierre, se détériore et est en partie démolie en 1926. Ce n'est qu'en 1998, selon les plans de Faucher, Aubertin, Brodeur, Gauthier architectes qu'est installée la porte actuelle, agrémentée d'un arceau métallique. Cette porte est devenue une 'image forte du cimetière.

Dans les décennies qui suivent, la construction des mausolées façonne le paysage, de même que la transformation, en 1994, du premier charnier en mausolée Sainte-Claire-d’Assise (voir la photo en haut de page). Situé dans l’axe de l’entrée principale de la Côte-des-Neiges, on y ajoute un bassin en façade, qui accueille majestueusement les visiteurs. Ce lieu est désormais appelé Place de la commémoration. L'intégration de l'eau dans la création de cette place de rassemblement n'est pas anodin. En effet, les mouvements des jets d'eau attirent l'oeil vers le mausolée, et le son appelle au recueillement et à la sérénité. Tout comme la montagne, la signification de l'eau dans la religion chrétienne est aussi importante : elle symbolise la vie éternelle. "Jésus lui répondi t: "Quiconque boit de cette eau aura encore soif; mais celui qui boira de l'eau que je lui donnerai n'aura plus jamais soif; Au contraire, l'eau que je lui donnerai deviendra en lui une source d'eau jaillissant pour la vie éternelle." Évangile selon Saint-Jean, chapitre 4,13 et 14. 

Ces réalisations architecturales et la gestion du développement paysager du Cimetière démontrent depuis toujours la volonté de la Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montréal de préserver ce lieu unique et de le moderniser dans le respect de sa mission première et de son environnement. 

entree principale cote-des-neiges

L'entrée, chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges

preservation de la faune

Aidez-nous à préserver la faune et à assurer une cohabitation harmonieuse.

  • En se nourissant sans l'intervention de l'humain, les animaux développent des comportements adéquats essentiels à leur survie. Les aliments des humains ne leur conviennent pas. 

  • Nourrir les animaux contribue à la surabondance de certaines espèces. Cette situation nuit à l'équilibre écologique naturel qui contribue à la sauvegarde de la belle diversité faunique. 

  • En perdant leur crainte naturelle des humains, ils peuvent importuner les visiteurs. 

Merci d'observer l'interdiction de nourrir les animaux et de suivre ces deux conseils :

  • Appréciez les animaux sauvages à distance.

  • Gardez votre animal domestique à la maison.

Entretien et lutte à l’agrile du frêne

Chaque année, plusieurs employés travaillent à l’entretien des chemins, des arbres, de la pelouse et de l’aménagement paysager du cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges dont la superficie est de 340 acres. Plus de 500 interventions arboricoles sont effectuées, de l’abattage à l’élagage en passant par la plantation d’arbres, l’haubanage, etc.

En plus de la prévention et des soins particuliers apportés aux arbres infestés par des insectes ou des maladies problématiques, le cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges est particulièrement actif dans la lutte à l’agrile du frêne depuis 2010. Tous les arbres sont traités ou surveillés rigoureusement.

De plus, un projet récent nous a permis de faire transformer ceux qui ne pouvaient être sauvés en urnes écologiques et en magnifiques bancs de bois (désormais installés dans nos mausolées), grâce aux bons soins de l'entreprise d'économie circulaire Bois Public.