I’d like to welcome you all to the Notre-Dame-des-Neiges Cemetery’s new Website.

 

After someone we love passes, what remains? The memory of a moment, perhaps. Or, the lasting image of a friendly face. We miss these loved ones and need a special place to reflect, celebrate their lives and pay our respects. We need something to remember them by, something to honour their individual history – we need a place that encourages us to tap into the fond memories of those we love. Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery wants to offer you that space.

 

Since its foundation in 1854, the history of the Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery has been closely tied with that of Montreal and all those who came before us. Our cemetery witnessed our city’s Catholic origins firsthand, then watched Montreal transform into the culturally diverse city it is today; our monuments are engraved with many significant names and dates spanning those many years.

 

Notre-Dame-des-Neiges is the largest cemetery in all of Canada. Our team ensures that the maintenance of our 341 acres does not disturb the tranquility of our grounds, which we aim to preserve at all costs. This is one of our greatest daily challenges – to assure tranquility for nearly one million deceased while respecting our status as a heritage site, our abundant flora and fauna, and accommodating development activities to welcome the generations to come.

 

In order to fulfill our mission, we have a team of engaged employees who welcome families with compassion and respect. We also have priests who are ready to help you navigate the difficult period of mourning. Do not hesitate to ask us to meet them. Even after a funeral service, we are thinking of you. That is why on the first Saturday of every month, during our commemorative masses services held in our magnificent Notre-Dame-de-la-Résurrection chapel, we pay homage to loved ones who have passed.

 

I believe in resurrection. I believe in eternal life. Christ is risen. I know that our bodies will be transformed in death, but I believe and I hope that our life will find fullness in God.

 

May God our Father, bring you peace and comfort.

 

Miguel Castellanos, p.s.s., pastor

 

President of the Board of directors of the Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montreal

Je vous souhaite la bienvenue sur le nouveau site Web du cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges

 

Que reste-t-il de ceux que nous avons aimés? Que reste-t-il de ceux que nous avons connus? Peut-être le souvenir d’un moment! Peut-être la mémoire d’un visage! Ces personnes nous manquent et nous avons besoin d’un lieu précis pour nous recueillir, pour célébrer la vie et leur mémoire. Nous avons besoin qu’il reste quelque chose de leur histoire individuelle, nous avons besoin de garder leurs traces, et pour cela, il nous faut un endroit où notre mémoire puisse s’appuyer. Cet endroit, le cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges vous l’offre.

 

Depuis sa fondation en 1854, l’histoire du cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges est liée de près à celle de Montréal et à celle de tous ceux qui sont partis avant nous. En effet, notre cimetière est témoin de la diversité culturelle et des origines catholiques de la fondation de la ville: sur ses monuments sont gravés les dates et les personnages de notre histoire.

 

Notre-Dame-des-Neiges est le plus grand cimetière du Canada. Nos équipes sur le terrain s’assurent que la gestion de 341 acres de superficie n’entrave pas le calme des lieux, que nous nous engageons à préserver. Cela représente de grands défis quotidiens: assurer le calme des lieux pour les proches de près d’un million de défunts, tout en tenant compte de notre statut de site patrimonial, de notre luxuriante faune et végétation, sans oublier nos activités de développement pour l’accueil des générations à venir.

 

Pour remplir notre mission, nous avons des employés engagés, qui accueillent les familles avec respect et compassion. Nous avons également des prêtres qui peuvent vous aider à passer à travers cette étape difficile qu’est le deuil. N’hésitez pas à demander à les rencontrer.  Après les funérailles, nous continuons à penser à vous. C’est pourquoi, tous les premiers samedis du mois, lors des messes commémoratives, nous rendons hommage à vos êtres chers dans notre magnifique chapelle Notre-Dame-de-la-Résurrection.

 

Je crois à la résurrection, je crois à la vie éternelle. Le Christ est vraiment ressuscité. Je sais que nos corps vont être transformés par la mort, mais je crois et j’espère que notre vie trouvera sa plénitude en Dieu.

 

Que Dieu Notre Père vous donne le réconfort et la paix.

Miguel Castellanos, curé, p.s.s.

Président du conseil d’administration de la Fabrique de la paroisse Notre-Dame de Montréal.